top of page
  • Writer's pictureP.T. Lockwood

"Little Women" Book 1~ Spoiler Review

Yay! I'm finally back! I don't know about you but it feels like forever to me since I've written on the blog. You know, I always told myself, "How could those bloggers take so long in between posts? Yeah, life gets busy but writing just one post doesn't take that long." Well, old self, you finally know what they mean. ;) Despite the quarantine, between school, planning for this series I'm teaching soon, etc. It has been crazy awesome, but busy!

On my Instagram, I gave a hint of my next post, (which I still won't completely give away) but it's a decently large project. So, in the meantime, let's do a small post on my April reading, shall we?


Little Women, Book One, Spoiler Review


(I found my copy!)


Side note: Yes, there are actually 2 books to Little Women and I have only just started the second one. Ergo (fancy words XD), I shall focus on book one but in light of book 2. :D


Let's start with the negative:


1. Amy.

Amy is dreadfully annoying. Harsh?... Yeah, I know. XD

Nevertheless, she is immature, literally destroyed Jo's life work, low-key takes advantage of her Aunt March's wealth and is altogether selfish.

I'll keep it short. Read the book. XD


2. Laurie's character growth

I love Laurie. He is fun, so helpful in the March's time of need, and literally everyone has adopted him as their own just a few chapters in. But, you can really see him growing more immature as the book progresses. Already, his "gossip" update in book 2 reveals that college turned him into sort of a flirtatious, rich brat. I'm not sure if he will get better (I don't remember from watching the movie as a kid) but from what I do remember, I don't think he does. Which is sad because I loved Laurie. But, we shall see. *shrugs*


3. Mr. John Brooke and Meg

Disclaimer. I understand that the times of this book are different and that means courting is different. But, I still need to get this one out!

I thought John was a great character all by himself but I wish Alcott had given us more development between him and Meg. Their relationship seemed a little forced. Plus, John didn't have that connection with the rest of the family I would've liked to see. If he had gelled with the Marches and been like the older brother (as Laurie is more like Jo's twin), that would've been perfect. True, there's a three-year gap between the last chapter of book 1 when they get engaged and the beginning of book 2 when they get married but even then, you don't visibly see much growth between him and the Marches. To the reader, the 3-year gap only says so much.

IDK, how do you feel about this? Let me know below!



Now onto the positive things!


1. Everything else XD

~ I thought the dynamics of the characters were amazing. I really enjoyed reading the bouts of the March girls because it reminds me so much of my own family! I'm the youngest of four girls and the accuracy is real.



~ Their adventures were very enjoyable and she presents the concerns of each age group well. For example, Amy, only 12 years old, is represented as a schoolgirl who cares about what her classmates think of her and what the fads of her class are. (This sounds contradictory to what I said first, but it's the lack of growth that bugs me.) Then Beth, who is 13 at the start of the novel, is



~ Mrs. March, or Marmee, is a queen. She instructs her girls with love and, most importantly, she advises them to seek God every day and for Him to be their best confidante. On top of that, she demonstrates that controlling your anger is possible and that work brings satisfaction. What. A. Woman.

~ ~ ~


And there you have it, Little Women.

I hope you enjoyed this post and decide to read this rewarding duology. Please like this post and subscribe to my mailing list so we can discuss all those great things!

Thanks for reading!

- P. T. Lockwood

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page