top of page
  • Writer's pictureP.T. Lockwood

July Reading Update/TBR!

Hello, friends! I know I have been not very active on the blog recently- these past 2 months have been crazy busy with some personal/family issues that have arisen (some bad, but mostly good) and I have been booked! *pun intended*

So, I thought I'd pop in and give you a list of what I've been reading, which will hopefully give you some ideas for your next TBR!


WHERE I AM NOW ON OLD TBR:

  • The Lost World: So... I totally lost this book (well, I didn't really lose it- it was in my room but... tomatoes!) so I'm just now picking that one up again.

  • Harry Potter: still on the reread of the first book, but I got distracted by the books I am listing down yonder:

CURRENTLY READING (New TBR):

1. Up From Slavery by Booker T. Washington

(Technically, I am reading this for school but I still wanted to mention it.) This is an autobiography by a man who was born into slavery but witnessed the Emancipation Proclamation at a young age and got to live out the rest of his life as a "free man." The biggest thing I've gotten out of this book so far: appreciation and a drive to work hard.

Washington went to bed late studying for school and then literally got up at 4am to start work so he could pay for said school- I have never been so inspired and low-key ashamed in my life. New philosophy: If Washington can do it, so can I.

TBR:

1. Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass by Frederick Douglass

Another autobiography of a slave I'm reading for school~

I am so thankful that I am reading this when I am. I know that these books will seriously educate me on very prevalent issues and open my eyes to my Brothers and Sisters around me struggling with the echoes racism.




2. Taco USA: How Mexican Food Conquered America by Gustavo Arellano

Here's the tea: my mom was apart of a books sale a couple months ago, and we had to go through hundreds of books. In the process, I found a haul of books literally just about the history of food. There's. Even. One. About. Sushi. (You guys- I love me some sushi!) I am currently learning Spanish, so I thought, why not start with the one about Mexican food??



 

What are you reading in the rest of July?? Let me know in the comments below!

Thanks for reading!

Best wishes,

P.T. Lockwood

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

May TBR~

bottom of page