top of page
  • Writer's pictureP.T. Lockwood

"Not Your Princess" by Jessica Mitzel- Book Review

"Not Your Princess" by Jessica Mitzel

This book reveals the dark journey through abuse and the triumph of overcoming it in the hope of connecting with other abuse victims that are struggling, and to shed light on a major social issue. This book tells the story of abuse through a narrator that is affected by Stockholm Syndrome for over 10 years and eventually overcomes it. Despite the seriousness of the story, there are still sections of humor to ease the uncomfortable feelings.

 

This book was... really, really hard to read.

So, here's the story of how I was prompted to read this book:

Over this past Summer, I went to an apologetic camp, YAC (Youth Apologetics Camp), and this book was recommended to us by Frank Turek. While it is not a Christian account, it is so, so eye-opening and I think a very good read for Christians and non-Christians alike.

Anyways, my friend approached me and a couple of others, asking if we wanted to read this book with her. I accepted so we read it and then discussed it together.

Guys, this book... makes you sick. I mean, seriously, physically sick.

What Jessica went through... it is unfathomable to me. She experienced sexual abuse starting at the age of about 3 or 4, and it was a man, a friend of her parents from church. Yeah, gross.

As she got older, he passed her around to other men, he kept manipulating her, calling her "his princess", claiming that he was her prince, etc. During her teen years, he even kidnapped her for about a week. Eventually, he brings her home and her parents don't even realize it was him. All the while, Jessica formed eating disorders (after all, princesses are skinny, aren't they?), keeping silent about it the whole time. She had Stockholm syndrome, went to therapy, and traveled from treatment center to treatment center. Of course, it takes her years and years to finally tell the whole story. Then again, when she does, most of her therapists and authority figures don't even believe her.

Several times, she tries to commit suicide. Obviously, each time failed.

After years and years of abuse, self-deprecation, eating disorders, and depression, the culprit is imprisoned and she meets some quality mentors. Eventually, she begins to heal, although she says that she will never fully be okay.


 

There were times as I was reading this book that I literally felt sick.

I'll be honest, I actually skipped paragraphs or even whole pages just because I couldn't read it. Although, sometimes I debated if it was wrong to skip those parts, so, what I would do instead was take the time to pray. I would pray for the victims, for the families, for the mentors and therapists, for the abusers, and anyone else involved in Jessica's story and anyone else in a situation like this. I also prayed for myself, that God will give me a spirit of love and that He will show me what I can do to help bring healing and peace to victims of sexual abuse.

*side note* If you are a Christian, I strongly urge you to pray without ceasing for people like Jessica, for all the personnel involved, and for yourself as a servant of God. Our prayers really do make a difference because God really does hear the pleas of His people.


On a different note, this book was so astounding and really made me think. It's made me aware to watch for people who may be going through the same situation but are too afraid to speak up.

Before I end, in case you were wondering, Jessica actually does not seem to become a Christian. There was actually no mention of God, which surprised me because the book, like I said, was recommended to me at a Christian Conference. While I hope and pray that Jessica finds the Lord, I am still thankful for having read a secular approach and story of sexual abuse. It has caused me to look at life and society differently. I know that this book will help me in the future relating to people and discussing this issue.

So, all in all, I am so grateful for having read this book. I highly recommend that you read it for an eye-opening experience.

This book, as Jianna Sandoval commented on Goodreads, "hard to read--Graphic, heartbreaking, and inspiring. Worth it."


51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page