top of page
  • Writer's pictureP.T. Lockwood

My 2020 Book Haul!

Updated: Mar 22, 2020

2020 is officially here.

Gosh, FEBRUARY is already here! I mean, what is up with that?


Me [turning to garcon]: So, garcon, what is on the menu this year?

Garcon: Well, Ms. Lockwood, 2020 specializes in premium steak series. But, we also offer a variety of kinds of foods from all over. For example, we have Japanese cuisine, English biscuits, and even two mystery flavors.

Me [to garcon]: Well, that is quite the menu. Thank you. Hmm... if you would, please give me a moment to decide. [turns to the reader]

Do you see where I'm going with this, people?

As we plunge into the literary world of 2020, we must be prepared: be equipped with your tool belt of books and your head ready for new knowledge.

Be sure to check these books out as we readers plunge into new worlds and adventures together!


1. The Flame in the Mist by Renée Ahdeih


I have already started this book but I thought I'd mention it anyway. I'm almost 1/4 the way through and, so far, the plot seems to be going in a Japenese Mulan retelling direction. This book was given to me for my birthday by a friend, and while I'm a little unsure about the writing style, I'm excited to see where this goes!


2. The Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien



I have never read this series, and I am so regretting that now. It has been on my list for so long but I am just now reading it! I at least take pride in having been a The Hobbit for a long time. :D That book, every word, is sheer art and no one can tell me otherwise. So, I am so very excited to carry on the journey into the life of Frodo Baggins.


3. The Screaming Staircase by Jonathan Stroud



My sister has been begging me to read this series, Lockwood and Co., for the longest time and I am finally delivering on my promise. I have heard incredible things about this book (like, how the main character and I share the same last name. What are the odds?) and can't wait to read it! You know, the only problem with books as a whole is that you can't read all of them at once!


4. The Nancy Drew Series



I actually read the first 3-5 books when I was younger but I never finished them! Admittedly, I think that they're more suited for older kids so part of me is ok that I'm just now rereading them. Plus, I like mysteries a lot better now than I did then ("Scooby-Doo", "Gravity Falls", and "Stranger Things" have made me change my opinion XD) I am ready to get back to Nancy, Ned, and the girls!


5. Emma by Jane Austen



I just recently read Pride and Prejudice for school and it got me pretty hooked. So, I'm excited to try out the rest of Austen's books! As far as movies go, the stories have always been very beautiful with good morals. So, 2020 is telling me to go for it!


6. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer



This is another series that I started a long time ago but ended up pausing. Cinder was a-ma-za-ing. And I'd started Scarlet which I thought was equally incredible (I actually had a different reason for stopping my reading than myself), so I am especially excited to start again. And this is one of the series that a ton of my friends LOVE so I've gotta catch up! ;D


7. A Night Divided by Jennifer A. Nielson


So, funny story, I've had this book for probably 2 years- my friend lent this and Wonder, and I haven't been able to give them back!!! So, I might as well take advantage of this time and finally read it (I at least read Wonder- which was so eye-opening)! I am looking forward to reading this for the message and history. Can't wait!


 

Well, Ladies and Gents, this is it! Of course, I didn't hit every book/series (lotta series XD) on my list but those are the highlights! I hope that this has given you an idea of some awesome and not as well know books/series for you to read this year! Let me know in the comments, what are you reading this year?

Have a wonderful day today!

- P.T. Lockwood

26 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page