top of page
  • Writer's pictureP.T. Lockwood

How to Cry on Demand- Acting & Theater 101

Updated: Mar 18, 2020

Yup. We're talking about this.

You may be asking yourself, "who wakes up in the morning and goes... 'I need to master my battle cry calling a battalion of tears on the war zone called the stage. And today is that day...'?"

Well, that'd uh, that'd be theater kids.

gif

Look, guys, this is a legitimate thing. And not enough people talk about it.

For example, a little while ago, I played the part of Lucy Pevensie in "The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe" and I had to do quite a few sad scenes, some including crying. And I thought to myself... "I need to master my battle cry calling a battalion of tears on the war zone called the stage."

So, I did some research and found BARELY ANYTHING on this.

People, people, this is such a prevalent thing in theater! Theater is dramatic... so there is a LOT of crying that goes on stage.

So, I've split this post into two parts:

- Part 1: When you enter the stage already crying

- part 2: When you have to call the tears on stage

Well, without further introduction, I give to you,


~5 Tips for Crying on Demand~


Part 1: When You ENTER STAGE Already Crying

This part is for when have time to do tricks back stage and if your character is supposed to come one stage already sad and crying

Tip # 1: Stand in front of a fan and keep your eyes WIDE OPEN

Painful, yes, but, it seriously works. Not only will it trigger (lots and lots) of tears, but the pain will seriously help you be sadder. There is something about pain that just... it invokes the opposite emotions of joy, you know?



(and in case you were wondering, no, unfortunately,

you won't look like her when you practice this XD)


Tip # 2: Immerse Yourself into a Sad State/ Imagine a Scenario

I know that sounds really weird but hear me out. Literally, sit down, cup your face into your hands, and act like something really sad just happened. This looks different for everyone. I will do this when I'm alone just to practice and for the fun of it. Sometimes I will just stare at a point in the room, along with breathing deeply, clenching my teeth, that kind of thing, and my eyes will produce tears, at the very least, start to water. Or, when I'm having a harder time getting into it, I will literally get up/sit down (whatever my imaginary scene calls for) and act out a sad scenario. You could pretend that your character is receiving really bad news and reacts sadly or even angrily and begins to cry or it could be a scene when your character is reflecting on something that occurred- that produces a more somber state.

Better yet, act out the scene that you have either previously performed or create in your head the scene that your character became sad- this scene may not actually be written in the play.

Basically, find what works for you. This is more technique that allows you to become your character. Utilize it!


Tip # 3: Onions Will not Fail You

The onions have our backs. Seriously, have an onion

on hand, touch it, and rub them good 'ol enzymes into yo' eyes, Remember, pain is acting.




Tip # 4: Eye drops or Menthol Stick/ Spray

While I've never used this method myself, I've heard that many screen actors use this method and it works wonders! So, how knows? Check it out. And, especially if you are someone spending a lot of time in theater, this will be worth your investment.

Just rub the stick under your eyes or spray (yes) into your eyes and you will naturally produce tears.

Or find an eye dropper and a friend to get instant tears with the eye drops!'


Tip # 5: Read (probably poetry), Watch, or Listen to Something

As I'm sure many of you- and your friends- can testify, you cry, A LOT during sad stories.

Seriously, I know this girl who is a tough cookie but literally every time she hears poetry, she starts sobbing. And it is so, so funny. Also, be intentional with this. Think, evaluate. If a part of a story is sad, there is most likely going to be a deep meaning behind that. Connect that to your character and even bring that connection on stage with you. The more you connect with your character, on and off the stage, the easier it will be to act and the more fun you will have on stage. Watching something especially helps you relate to your character, which leads into my next tip.


Tip # 6: If There is a Film, Watch Your Character's Sad Scene

This really helped me out while I played Lucy. Since there is a FANTASTIC film for The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, I was able to watch some of Lucy's emotional scenes and really connect with her in how she would react to something like Aslan's death or Mr. Tumnus betraying her.

Bonus: Watching Lucy's scenes also gave me an example of how Lucy would interact with other characters, which not only made our stage performance better, but it helped my fellow actors/actresses be sadder too. For example, while Aslan is dead, Susan and Lucy take a moment to lament him. It is a beautiful sister moment when they cry together and bear each other's burden. So, watching and studying that scene helped the girl that played Susan and I connect better.


Part 2: Producing Tears Mid-scene, ON STAGE

These methods are for the not so lucky ones who have to begin crying while on stage- probably when your character receives bad news

Tip # 7: Gently Rub Your Eyes with Your Fingertips

Here, either your character could already be rubbing your eyes or you would have to wait until a moment leading up to your cry moment where you're not seen (well). Just take your fingertips and rub around the rims of your eyes. Make sure your hands are clean as this is not the best for your eyes, but it will only be a couple of times and sometimes, "a girl's got to do what a girl's got to do" (comment below if you know what I'm quoting ;D).


Tip # 8: Squint Your Eyes while Trying to Keep Them Open

Basically, it's a mix of getting air into your

eyes (like the fan trick) but also giving them a lot

of scrunched activity- there is something about

giving your eye muscles a lot of activity that

pumps out tears. Try squinting, then opening

wide, then do both simultaneously. Unfortunately, this is a practice also best done unseen by the audience, but it can work, especially if your hands are buried into your face, or your turned

away from the audience.


Tip # 9: Repeat a Word or Phrase to Yourself

Think of something that your character would/could say and repeat it. It could be something like, "he was only 12 years old," or, "how could she have done this," something fitting the character and scenario. Find a phrase or word, fit it in, act it out how you need to, and, most importantly, believe it. Anytime you are acting, you have to be that character. So, explore your character and conjure up feelings they would have!


Really, the bottom line in all of this is:

either feel the emotions for your character or fake it til you make it.

Last note: Guys, please, don't ever feel embarrassed while you cry or show extreme emotion on stage. These kinds of things may feel funny at first, especially when interacting with other characters, but if you allow things to be relaxed and natural, you will realize the beauty or the deeper message in that emotional moment, and the audience will feel that too. Acting is full of crazy wonderful moments! One of the biggest things I always remind myself is, "just have fun with it!"

Well, that about wraps it up! Thank you for reading and I hope that the tips will be helpful to you in all of your acting endeavors.

- P. T. Lockwood

P. S.

In March, I added a #10 Bonus Tip post which you can read here. You will find it very entertaining, I'm sure. XD

76 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page