top of page
  • Writer's pictureP.T. Lockwood

The Personal Essay You Don't Know What to do With Because It's 1st Person, Casual, AND Analytical

Updated: Apr 2, 2020

Contractions...

Slang...

Random Quotes...

You know what I mean, you writers. Those elements that you want to put in your writing but you can't because of the format you use- probably in Middle and High School- or your teacher's restrictions. You want to. That's how you'd write if you could. But you can't.

Hey, everyone. This is P.T. Lockwood. This is my very first post!

"Oh, Yeah!"

gif

So, I thought, to start out the journey, it would be interesting to do a mash-up of Relatable Writer-y things and share an essay that I just recently wrote, in which I found myself at a crossroads between fitting the formal, uniform writing style I'm used to in school and the laid back, flexible writing style that comes from a personal essay conveying an opinion into my paper.

I call this the "I-want-to-do-it-my-way-but-my-writing-program-says-different" dilemma (especially if you've ever done IEW, you know what I mean [In fact, an example of this is: Normally I would list (in an essay) symmetrically list the sub-topics in the sub-topics in the intro paragraph just as they're written in the body paragraphs, but just because I can I'm going to list my essay first and then the writer-y points- contrary to the order in my intro ...])

So, here goes...

1. My essay on The Great Divorce

In my literature class, we read C. S. Lewis' The Great Divorce over Christmas break and our recent assignment was to write two short essays on particular sections of the book that stuck with us, taught us something, or got us to think of a spiritual matter in a different way.

For my first essay, I chose the section in chapter four (as I explained in the essay), the conversation between the Big Man and a Solid Person, Len. You will read why I choose that certain part of the book in the essay but I still wanted to write a quick word:

One of the things that I appreciate most about Lewis's writing is the way he presents his beliefs. He argues God's word so well, so kindly, he's never pushy representing his beliefs in his books. You can clearly tell through his works that he was a deep thinker who recognized that we Christians cannot just pick up a Bible and read it. We have to study it and apply it to our surroundings, our attitude, etc..

Tasteful.

That is one of the words that I would pin Lewis' writings as. He deals with issues tastefully.

As follows, here is the actual essay (this was written in one day):

~ ~ ~ ~

Sticking with me particularly, Lewis wrote a scene in chapter four of The Great Divorce in which the Narrator overhears the Big Man ("to speak more accurately, the Big Ghost") conversing with a Solid Person called Len about their current circumstances (27). Throughout this conversation, we learn that the Big Ghost was a man who "done [his] best by everyone" in life, but after death ended up in Grey Town (Hell). In contrast, Len, who was the Ghost's former employee and a murderer in life, repented and ended up in the Mountains (Heaven) (Lewis 27). Lewis once said, "[aim] at Heaven, and you will get Earth' thrown in': aim at Earth, and you will get neither." This story is a prime example of that belief. Additionally, Lewis emphasizes two astonishing truths- all sins are equal in God's eyes, and that forgiveness is the precursor to peace. The Big Ghost makes a comment, Provoking Len to remark about his greatest sin, which the Big Ghost assumes to be Jack's murder. To this, Len replies, "Murdering old Jack wasn't the worst thing I did. That was the work of a moment and I was half mad when I did it. But I murdered you in my heart for years. I used to lie awake at night thinking what I'd do to you if I ever got the chance. That is why I have been sent to you now: to ask forgiveness and to be your servant as long as you need one, and longer if it pleases you'" (Lewis 29). Lastly, during their conversation, the Big Ghost asks Len where Jack (the man Len murdered) is now, to which their conversation carries, "' He is here,' said the other [Len], 'You will meet him soon, if you stay.' 'But you murdered him.' 'Of course I did. It is all right now.'" (Lewis 26). The sheer simplicity of Len's reply is a reminder that by God's forgiveness, even those who were enemies in life can live eternally as brothers.

~ ~ ~ ~


The problems I ran into when writing this:

1. I wasn't even sure if I was allowed to use quotes from outside the book. Nevertheless, I thought that a quote from the author himself- and because it was fitting- would be acceptable. I didn't think it would be too risky but you still have to wonder.


2. I wasn't sure if I was supposed to cite my quotes. But, honestly, I can't stand not citing them and... it does make a great impression. So, Word of the Wise, ALWAYS CITE QUOTES IF YOU CAN!


3. I wasn't sure of my audience. Is this addressed to a knowledgable group- people who have read The Great Divorce or who are very familiar with it? Or is it addressed to a group who knows next to nothing about the book? I went with the former since this was a casual, one-day assignment for my literally ah-may-zing teacher.


Those were undoubtedly my top problems and the problems I most often run into casual writing.

Now, branching off that:


2. Those Personal Essay Moments When You Say, "I'm in a rut!" (Some of these are repeats)

1-3. The ones previously mentioned (wow, Piper, really gripping point)


4. Contractions. Con-tract-tion-s. Con'trac'tion's's's's' !!! This is one of those rules that I, indeed respect, but don't understand. While it does lean on slang, they can be extremely helpful depending on the type of message you wish to convey in your writing. And they would have helped me out a lot as a kid with the Very Short Sentence (SSS) Dress ups! Nonetheless, I understand that they are simply not allowed in the school days of writing.


5. Wordiness. This point doesn't particularly deal with the formatting of school essays but it is an element that I have struggled with for years! Naturally, my writing style takes after authors like Lewis (one of the things that make my loving his works so obvious XD) and Tolkien (The Hobbit is one of my favorite stories, hands down! The Lord of the Rings I've just recently started but is also so crazy awesome and detailed.)


6. Humor. There are certain kinds of writing styles with humor that's just "delicious" (as Cassie from Miss Popularity would say). Sometimes dry, sometimes right in yo' face, it really depends. I think that the best stories and non-fictitious works are the ones done by authors with some humor, sarcasm, or edge. That is one of the things that I wish I could implement more into my regular school writing but I think it strays from the point of the paper, adding more sentences (or words) than the maximum allowed, and maybe a little risky on papers presenting facts, not opinions. But, mark my words, ONE DAY! we shall see the glorious college days of free writing when everything is easier!! Muahahaha!!!....

Wait, right?

College Students:

"Yeah, totally!"


gif

Aaaaanyways, those are just a couple of nuggets of my writing life. Now, the disclaimer in all of this, is that I really do, deeply love grammar (so, so, so very much- my family can testify), well-written papers, and formating. I mean, without the restrictions like the ones I've listed, my writing now would be... not so great. XD They've taught me to harbor and hone my skills and to work on that good 'ol wordiness.

So all that being said, comment below on the troubles you stumble upon when writing for school! I thought I did pretty well considering the time frame but, just like art, you never know when to stop! But, I have to ask, what did you think of the essay? Suggestions? Comments" Questions? Suggestions on how to improve essay writing? Feel free to leave a comment below! We writers will take all of the feedback we can get!


WELL! (Come on, say it with me, you know you want to...)

"

gif

"

35 views1 comment
bottom of page